Histories of The General Baptist Churches -
of the
Union Association 1953


The Mt. Lebanon General Baptist Church was organized about 1840 and joined Union Association in 1842, and entertained the association in 1843. The Rev. G. P. Cavanaugh was a delegate from the church that year, although he was not then a minister. He and Thomas Norris were baptized by Rev. J. M. Hunt.

some of the pastors have been:
  1. Rev. Absalom Pearce
  2. Rev. M. B. Covington
  3. Rev. D. L. Fraser
  4. Rev. J. F. Bumpus
  5. Rev. A. B. Stone
  6. Rev. L. L. Todd
  7. Rev. W. W. Oakley
  8. Rev. E. Y. Laslie
  9. Rev. Nealy Pearcy
  10. Rev. D. E. Luttrell
  11. Rev. Walter Redmon
  12. Rev. M. L. Clark
  13. Rev. L. O. Nichols

and Rev. Roy Ridenour who is the present pastor, since 1959.

Mt. Lebanon church has entertained the Union Association in 1843, 1860, 1867, 1892, 1899, 1910, 1920, 1932, 1951, eleven times in all, and more times than any other church except Pleasant Hope church, which has entertained the Association fifteen times.

* - Source - History of Union Association of General Baptist 1840 - 1953
M.D. Mc Donald

Return to: Memorial Biographies of General Baptist Ministers of Union Association

Stop By and Visit:

Webster County ALHN Home Page


Graphics by
Cresswell Graphics
This space generously provided by logo Automated Link Service Courtesy of

Betty Sellers/Mt. Vernon, In.