First United Presbyterian Church Building
124 East Bellville St., Marion, KY 42064
(Now the home of the Crittenden County Historical Society and Museum)
It is the oldest church building in Marion.
Built in 1881
Hours:10:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Days: Tuesday through Saturday
Open April thru October
The first Presbyterian Church established in what is now Crittenden County grew out of brush-arbor services that were held in 1803 at Dickey Springs, 3 miles east of Marion,
by a Presbyterian Minister, William Dickey.
This Church building was built in 1881 on the corner of Bellville and College Street on land given by David Woods. The beautiful stained glass windows were imported from Germany. It is recorded that these windows were insured for $1,000.00.
There is a balcony that was financed to be built by one of the original members so that his servants could attend church with the family.
The church held services for over 120 years until the fall of 2002 when it was forced to close its doors due to lack of membership. The West Kentucky Presbytery, the church's governing body, and what few members were left, donated the church building to the Historical Society. They thought with the rich history of the church there could be no better use for the building than to be the home of the Crittenden County Historical Museum.
The Historical Society gratefully accepted this gift, and at once started the restoration
work on the inside, so it would be ready to open in the spring of 2004. The Crittenden County Historical Museum opened it's doors in their home on April 1st, 2004. It houses a great collection of the history of Marion and the surrounding communities that make up our beautiful and interesting county.